Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2021 Award Recipients

Follow the link for each award to learn more about this year’s recipients.

Alexander Prize

  • Kristina Gordon

Angie Warren Perkins Award

  • Misty Anderson

Charles R. Burchett Extraordinary Contributions to Campus Life

  • United Residence Halls Council (URHC)

Dr. Marva Rudolph Diversity and Interculturalism Unit Excellence Award

  • Entomology and Plant Pathology Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service

  • Arden Gillchrest
  • Carmen Danley
  • Emily Medford
  • Emma Kate Hall
  • Farrin Mumpower
  • Gustavo Morrice
  • Marie Holzer
  • Nicole Beautz
  • Noah Dandridge
  • Sarah D’Onofrio

Extraordinary Community Service (Faculty / Staff)

  • Nicole Eggers

Extraordinary Community Service (Students and Student Organizations)

  • Shahd Abbas
  • Joseph Paschall
  • Christina Cho
  • Ashley Browning
  • Emily Sykes
  • Remote Area Medical

Extraordinary Customer Service

  • Allyson Graves

Extraordinary Graduate Student Teaching

  • Cameron Cook
  • Huseyin Kose
  • Holland Prior

Extraordinary Service to the University

  • Cynthia Tinker

Excellence in Academic Outreach

  • Natalie Bumgarner

Excellence in Advising

  • Amanda Gandy
  • Debbie Mackey
  • Kerri Cline
  • Megan Haselschwerdt

Excellence in Teaching

  • Courtney Wright
  • Lauren Whitnah
  • Maged Guerguis
  • Robert Richardson

Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award

  • Elise “Josie” Campbell

Global Catalyst Teaching and Service Award

  • Erin Darby

Hardy Liston Jr. Symbol of Hope Award

  • Dorian McCoy

Jefferson Prize

  • Jessica Grieser

Jimmy and Ileen Cheek Graduate Student Medal of Excellence

  • Amanda Hyman

L. R. Hesler Award

  • David Keffer

LGBTQ Advocate Award

  • Mitsunori Misawa

LGBTQ Student Leadership Award

  • Will Martinez


  • Thura Mack

Professional Promise in Research and Creative Achievement

  • Elizabeth Derryberry
  • Joshua Sangoro
  • Garriy Shteynberg
  • Jian Liu

Research and Creative Achievement

  • Peter Liaw
  • Fangxing Li
  • Althea Murphy-Price
  • Sara Ritchey

Rising UT Woman Award

  • Kay Howell
  • Mariya Zhuravleva
  • Sydney Selman

Success in Multidisciplinary Research

  • Healthy Environment team

Top Collegiate Scholars

  • See List


  • Maria Urias
  • Madison Woods
  • Natalie Campbell
  • Trey Smith
  • Taylor Boyer
  • Tyler Young

Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year

  • Jennifer Macfie
  • Kimberly Gwinn

Undergraduate Researcher of the Year

  • Robert Jackson Spurling
  • Zachary Orig

Volunteer Spirit 

  • Brian Gard
  • Dr. Spencer Gregg

The African American Hall of Fame Award is awarded once every five years and will be awarded again in 2024.