Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2021 Angie Warren Perkins Award

Named for the first dean of women at UT, the Angie Warren Perkins Award honors outstanding leadership in campus governance or administration at the level of department head, director, or below.

Misty Anderson

A smiling woman with short, curly hair wearing a bright orange patterned jacket over a blue shellMisty G. Anderson is the James R. Cox Professor and Head of English. She studies the literature and theatre of the long eighteenth century and is a founding member of the R/18 Collective. She is the author of multiple books, anthologies, and articles about theatre, gender, and religion.

What does being a Volunteer mean to you? How has UT empowered you to make a difference in a way you might not have imagined elsewhere?

This community is lucky to have many faculty leaders who educate for citizenship and who research and create art that makes communities healthier, more empathetic, and more just, year after year. Those ideals have driven me to serve the university through my teaching, the Faculty Senate, Commissions, and committees, where we translate our ideals about the university into action.

Colleagues from across the campus, the Senate (especially Bonnie Ownley), and in my own department lit the way for me. I’m grateful to do this work shoulder to shoulder with them.