Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2023 Award Recipients

Follow the link for each award to learn more about this year’s recipients.

Alexander Prize

  • Elbio Dagotto

Angie Warren Perkins Award

  • Leia Cain

Charles R. Burchett Extraordinary Contributions to Campus Life Award

  • Bangladesh Students Association

Commission for Disability Advocate Award

  • Kimberly Mitchell

Commission for Disability Graduate Student Award

  • Jillian Walton

Commission for Disability Undergraduate Student Award

  • Sofie Janssen

Dr. Marva Rudolph Diversity and Inclusion Unit of Excellence Award

  • McClung Museum

Excellence in Academic Outreach

  • Joy Radice

Excellence in Advising

  • Sonja Burk
  • Kimberly Sheldon
  • Emilie Wise
  • Xiaohua “Awa” Zhu

Excellence in Teaching

  • Bob DuBois
  • Xingli Giam
  • Frances Harper
  • Wanessa Velloso

Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service Award

  • Anthony Tom
  • Emma Nair
  • Francesca Savarino
  • Frank Wilk
  • Hunter Hammock
  • Jack Shelton
  • Jada Laws
  • Kasey Washington
  • Kennadi Hawkins
  • Kirby Connell
  • Legna Soto-Gonzalez
  • Mary Grace Myers
  • Noah Smith
  • Sejal Jinturkar

Extraordinary Community Service Award (Faculty / Staff)

  • Helene Sinnreich

Extraordinary Community Service (Students and Student Organizations)

  • Ashleigh Skipper
  • Brooklyn Barnes
  • Dhruv Patel
  • Eva Karnowski
  • Lucille Marret
  • Lygia Karagiozis
  • Lyndsey Huizenga
  • Student Government Association

Extraordinary Customer Service Award

  • Tammy Campbell

Extraordinary Graduate Student Teaching

  • Nicholas Grondin

Extraordinary Service to the University Award

  • Deborah Welsh

Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award

  • Miranda Rutan

Global Catalyst Teaching and Service Award

  • Paul Gellert

Hardy Liston Jr. Symbol of Hope Award

  • Carmanelette Rawls

Jimmy and Ileen Cheek Graduate Student Medal of Excellence

  • Brittany Zepernick

L. R. Hesler Award for Excellence in Teaching and Service

  • Erin Hardin

LGBTQ Advocate Award

  • Joel Anderson

LGBTQ Student Leadership Award

  • Joseph Winberry


  • Nan Gaylord

Notable UT Woman Award

  • Samantha Ehrlich

Professional Promise in Research and Creative Achievement

  • Georgi Gardiner
  • Stephanie Kilvin
  • Shuai Li
  • Katharine Page

Research and Creative Achievement

  • Melissa Cardon
  • Xueping Li
  • Vasileios Maroulas
  • Michela Taufer

Rising UT Woman Award

  • Hannah Schmidt

Success in Multidisciplinary Research

  • Team led by Vitaly Ganusov and Michael Langston

Thomas Jefferson Prize

  • Wendy Bach


  • Daniel Dassow
  • Diba Seddighi
  • Diego Lourenco
  • Emily Morgan
  • Evan Mays
  • Jordan Brown
  • Juliet Gear
  • Kiara Robinson-Milloy
  • Michael Rodriguez
  • Patrick Angelaccio
  • Pilar Garcia

Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year

  • David Keffer
  • Keerthi Krishnan

Undergraduate Researcher of the Year

  • Alexander Greenhalgh
  • Nolan Ragland

Volunteer Spirit

  • Ann Robinson-Craig

The African American Hall of Fame Award is awarded once every five years and will be awarded again in 2024.