Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


The Alexander Prize is named for former UT president and now US Senator Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey, to recognize superior teaching and distinguished scholarship.

Alumni Outstanding Teacher awards are bestowed by the UT Alumni Association to recognize teaching excellence.

Excellence in Graduate Mentoring and Advising honors graduate advisors and faculty members who have distinguished themselves as being highly committed to the advising and mentoring of graduate students.

Excellence in Teaching and Undergraduate Advising is bestowed by the Office of the Chancellor and the Teaching Council of the Faculty Senate to honor outstanding work in the classroom and in advising.

Extraordinary Graduate Student Teaching honors graduate students’ excellence in instruction.

The L. R. Hesler Award was established by students, colleagues, and friends of the longtime head of the botany department and former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences to reward exceptional teaching and service.

Ready for the World honors those who enhance intercultural and international awareness of students and the campus community.