Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2018 LGBTQ Student Leadership Award

The LGBTQ Student Leadership Award is given by the Commission for LGBT People to a student who demonstrates a commitment to advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues on campus.

Danielle Burton

Danielle BurtonDanielle Burton has never shied away from sharing their perspectives and experiences to educate others in relation to the LGBTQIA community. The PhD candidate in mathematics has given their all to promote the well-being, safety, and acceptance of LGBTQIA people on campus. They were the first student to serve as co-chair of the Commission for LGBT People. They also served as a campus Safe Zone trainer, participated in a panel discussion during the recent San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus visit, and has worked with the Tennessee Equality Project, Voices for Trans Youth, the Trans Empowerment Project, OUTgrads, and the Tennessee State Department of Health’s HIV/AIDS coordinator. Their warmth and positive attitude offered an optimistic perspective when the political climate made funding for support of LGBTQIA students look dire. Burton’s years-long work for the betterment of our community truly exemplifies the spirit of the LGBTQ Student Leadership Award.