Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2018 Angie Warren Perkins Award

Named for the first dean of women at UT, the Angie Warren Perkins Award honors outstanding leadership in campus governance or administration at the level of department head, director, or below.

Jamie Coble

Jamie CobleJamie Coble, assistant professor of nuclear engineering, is an outstanding researcher and teacher. Her research, aimed at supporting the safety, security, and economics of nuclear power systems, is supported by millions of dollars in government funding and involves dozens of graduate students. She serves as a faculty advisor to the university’s student chapter of Women in Nuclear and is responsible for helping develop a PhD-level course on applications of artificial intelligence and optimization in nuclear power systems, as well as updating the undergraduate course on nuclear system dynamics and controls. Coble is regularly engaged in department and college outreach, including the Freshman Engineering Perspectives Fair, Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day, the Women in STEM Symposium, and the Exhibit of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EURēCA). She received the American Nuclear Society Ted Quinn Early Career Award in 2017 for her work in nuclear plant instrumentation and controls research.