Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Research and Creative Achievement Awards—Professional Promise

Nomination Deadline

  • 12:00 Noon, Wednesday, January 30, 2019

Nomination Cover Sheet

The Office of Research and Engagement is soliciting nominations for the 2019 Professional Promise in Research and Creative Achievement Awards.  Four Professional Promise awards will be made and are designated to give special recognition to talented junior faculty members for their professional promise in research and creative achievement at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet in April.  In addition, each recipient will receive a $3,000 monetary award.  The Awards Committee of the Research Council will screen all nominations and make recommendations to the Associate Vice Chancellor for Research.


The purpose of these awards is to recognize tenured or tenure track faculty members at the assistant or associate professor rank who have received national and/or international recognition in their fields and show professional promise in their areas of research and creative achievement.  These awards are also to encourage excellence in research and creative achievement, to emphasize the critical role of research and creative achievement in the professional development of our faculty, and to reinforce that faculty research and creative achievement are integral to the mission of the University of Tennessee.


Eligibility is limited to tenured or tenure track faculty members at the assistant or associate professor rank who by the end of academic year 2018-2019 have up to ten years as a tenure track faculty member.  Nominees must have a minimum of three years of service on the faculty of the University of Tennessee.  An individual may only receive this award once.  UTIA faculty are not eligible for this award.


Each small UT academic department or budgetary unit at Knoxville may submit the name and credentials of one nominee to the Awards Committee.  Larger departments (20 or more faculty members) may submit two nominations.


Please complete application and submit support documentation at this website.


The deadline for receipt of materials is 12:00 Noon, Wednesday, January 30, 2019.