Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Awards and Nomination Procedures

Below are the awards presented at the Honors Banquet. For more information about each award, including nomination deadlines, click on the name of each award.

Chancellor’s Citation Awards

Campus Honors

  • African American Hall of Fame Award
    Awarded to an African American who has made important contributions to the University of Tennessee. The recipient should demonstrate distinguished services, leadership, and social advocacy.
  • Alexander Prize
    Awarded to a faculty member who exhibits excellence in teaching and research.
  • Alumni Outstanding Teacher Awards
    Bestowed by the UT Alumni Association to recognize teaching excellence.
  • Alumni Public Service Award
    Honors a faculty or staff member whose work has made a significant impact on the Knoxville-area community.
  • Angie Warren Perkins Award
    Awarded to a woman who has shown excellence in teaching and scholarship early in her career.
  • Dr. Marva Rudolph Diversity and Interculturalism Unit Excellence Award
    Awarded to the office, program, or department that has implemented diversity and inclusion initiatives that are linked to their mission and are sustainable.
  • Excellence in Academic Outreach
    Awarded to a faculty member whose extraordinary contributions to the public have occurred as an outgrowth of academic pursuits and are related to the university’s academic mission.
  • Excellence in Advising
    Awarded to full- or part-time faculty and advisors exhibiting excellence in advising.
  • Excellence in Teaching
    Awarded to full- or part-time faculty members exhibiting excellence in teaching.
  • Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award
    Awarded to a student who serves the campus community and promote diversity and inclusion.
  • Hardy Liston Jr. Symbol of Hope Award
    Awarded to faculty or staff who serve the campus community and promote diversity and inclusion.
  • Jefferson Prize
    Awarded to tenured or tenure-track faculty who have demonstrated excellence in research and creative activity or who have made other significant achievements that might not be recognized in the usual university reward system.
  • Jimmy and Ileen Cheek Graduate Student Medal of Excellence
    Awarded annually to an outstanding PhD student.
  • L. R. Hesler Award
    Awarded to faculty with outstanding teaching abilities and service to the university community.
  • LGBTQ Advocate Award
    Awarded to faculty or staff who demonstrate leadership, integrity, and outstanding contributions in the promotion of an inclusive, safe, and respectful climate for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.
  • LGBTQ Student Leadership Award
    Awarded to a student who has made outstanding contributions in educational, social, and/or political activism for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people at the university.
  • Macebearer
    The Macebearer is awarded to a faculty member who has exhibited longstanding commitment and service to the university community.
  • Notable UT Woman Award
    Awarded to women from four rotating categories—administrator, alumnae, faculty and staff—who have made outstanding contributions to the university.
  • Ready for the World Award
    Awarded to a faculty member who has worked in exceptional ways to enhance intercultural and international awareness among undergraduates.
  • Research and Creative Achievement
    Awarded to tenured faculty who have received national or international recognition in their field.
  • Research and Creative Achievement—Professional Promise
    Awarded to tenured or tenure-track faculty members at the assistant or associate professor rank who have received national and/or international recognition in their fields and show professional promise in their areas of research and creative achievement.
  • Scholar Athlete Awards*
    Honors students who excel exceptionally in both scholarship and athletics.
  • Success in Multidisciplinary Research
    Awarded to a multidisciplinary research team that has succeeded in gaining major external resources and external recognition for their research.
  • Top Collegiate Scholar Awards*
    Honors undergraduates who exhibit extraordinary scholarship.
  • Torchbearer
    The highest student honor, the Torchbearer is awarded to seniors who have served their Alma Mater with overall excellence.
  • Undergraduate Researcher of the Year
    This award honors a student who has shown success and excellence in undergraduate research.
  • Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year
    This award honors a faculty member who has shown outstanding commitment to mentoring undergraduate research students.

*These awards are handled internally and do not accept nominations.