Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Jefferson Prize

The Jefferson Prize is awarded to tenured or tenure-track faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in research and creative activity or have made other significant achievements that might not be recognized in the usual university reward system. The prize confers upon the recipient the sum of $6,000 per year, which may be used as the recipient wishes to support teaching, research, or public service activities. The prize is awarded for a one-, two-, or three-year period. The prize is not a salary supplement.

Departments and small colleges or academic units that do not have departments may submit one nomination.

The nomination materials must include a nomination letter from the department head, a letter of support from the dean, and a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae (not to exceed five pages in length). All nomination materials should be scanned and submitted as a single PDF. Please submit nominations electronically no later than December 16. The nominations will be reviewed by a selection committee which will make recommendations to the provost.