Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


The Alexander Prize is named for former UT president and now US Senator Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey. It recognizes superior teaching and distinguished scholarship.

Alumni Outstanding Teacher awards are bestowed by the UT Alumni Association to recognize teaching excellence.

Excellence in Teaching is bestowed by the Office of the Chancellor and the Teaching Council of the Faculty Senate to honor outstanding work in the classroom.

The Graduate Student Teaching Award honors graduate student excellence in instruction.

The L. R. Hesler Award is named for a longtime head of the botany department who also served as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Hesler’s students, colleagues, and friends established this memorial award to recognize exceptional teaching and service.

Ready for the World honors those who enhance intercultural and international awareness of students and the campus community.