Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue


2013 Chancellor’s Honors Banquet Award Recipients

The Charles R. Burchett Extraordinary Contributions to Campus Life award honors students and student organizations for extraordinary contributions to campus life.

The Extraordinary Customer Service award is given to a university employee who is consistently optimistic and serves students, faculty, staff, and campus visitors with great care.

Extraordinary Professional Promise honors are awarded to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate professional promise in teaching, research or other contributions.

Extraordinary Service to the University honors faculty members, staff members, or friends for noteworthy service to the university.

The Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award honors a student for work in promoting cultural diversity and enrichment on campus.

Extraordinary Graduate Student Teaching honors graduate students’ excellence in instruction.

The Hardy Liston Jr. Symbol of Hope Award honors a faculty member, staff member, or friend of the university who demonstrates a commitment to diversity and multiculturalism.

The Jefferson Prize honors a tenured or tenure-track faculty member for significant contributions through research and creative activity.

The L. R. Hesler Award was established by students, colleagues, and friends of the longtime head of the botany department and former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences to reward exceptional teaching and service.

The LGBT Advocate Award recognizes a faculty member, staff member, or student who demonstrates a commitment to advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender issues on campus.