Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2023 Angie Warren Perkins Award

Named for the first dean of women at UT, the Angie Warren Perkins Award honors outstanding leadership in campus governance or administration at the level of department head, director, or below.

Leia Cain

Leia Cain

Leia K. Cain is an assistant professor of evaluation, statistics, and methodology. She received her PhD from the University of South Carolina. In her research, Cain utilizes narrative and arts-based methods to explore the lived experiences of LGBTQ+ populations in higher education spaces.


What does being a Volunteer mean to you? How has UT empowered you to make a difference in a way you might not have imagined elsewhere?

“When I first read the Volunteer Creed (“One that beareth a torch shadoweth oneself to give light to others”), I knew immediately that UT was where I wanted to establish the roots of my career. I strongly believe that part of our mission as academics is to create positive change for our students and community, ensuring lasting impacts that ripple out from their actions throughout their lives—and it seems like UT’s mission aligned perfectly with that belief. I hope that I can make a positive impact on others through my teaching, scholarship, and service, thereby lighting the way for others who also hope to make a difference.”