Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2023 Alexander Prize

The Alexander Prize is named for former UT president and now US Senator Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey. It recognizes superior teaching and distinguished scholarship.

Elbio Dagotto

Elbio Dagotto

Elbio Dagotto is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics and a Distinguished Scientist at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He received his PhD in his native Argentina. His research is on magnetic and superconducting properties of materials, particularly employing computational techniques. Dagotto received the Adler Award for Materials Physics of the American Physical Society. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

What does being a Volunteer mean to you? How has UT empowered you to make a difference in a way you might not have imagined elsewhere?

“As a Volunteer, I have the honor of being faculty at the UT Department of Physics and living in the wonderful state of Tennessee. Daily, I explore the surprising unique properties of new materials at the atomic level, which I study thanks to the UT computational resources, the proximity to ORNL, and my many collaborators. The excellent undergraduate students in my class can take advantage and be inspired by such a unique scientific environment, with growing international visibility.”