Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2015 Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award

The Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award recognizes a student or group for promoting cultural diversity and enrichment on campus.

Summer Lead Institute Action Committee

The Summer Lead Institute Action Committee, often known as “the committee,” is dedicated to access, advocacy, and representation of underrepresented students. The committee is composed of seniors Rilwan Balogun, Kamille Cheatham, Kierra Richmond, Christopher Smith, and Laquesha Wilson. It was formed last fall to engage with campus administration to help preserve UT’s Summer LEAD Institute. The group’s nominator said, “Words cannot describe how proud I am of Rilwan, Kamille, Kierra, Christopher, and Laquesha. They have truly been exemplary student leaders and pioneers to help make UT a better place for all.”