Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2014 Macebearer

Macebearer is the highest faculty award, celebrating and honoring a distinguished career and a solid commitment to students, scholarship, and society.

Harry “Hap” McSween

Harry “Hap” McSweenDistinguished Earth and Planetary Sciences Professor Harry “Hap” McSween is the definition of a servant leader. Throughout his career, McSween has given his leadership and service at critical times in his department, his college, and the university. He has served as a department head, an interim department head, and acting associate dean for research and development in the College of Liberal Arts. McSween was twice an interim dean for the College of Arts and Sciences, and he chaired the search committee for a new dean. A Chancellor’s Professor, McSween is the world’s leading expert on the composition of Mars. He is also co-investigator for NASA’s Mars Odyssey and Dawn spacecraft missions and Mars exploration rovers. UT and many other scientific and academic organizations have honored McSween with awards including Southeastern Conference Professor of the Year, an AGU Whipple Award, and the Alexander Prize. “He is passionately committed to the success of this institution,” his Macebearer nomination states. “We are a better community because Hap McSween is among us.”